Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Getting to know death : a meditation  Cover Image Book Book

Getting to know death : a meditation / Gail Godwin

Godwin, Gail, (author.).

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781639734443
  • ISBN: 1639734449
  • Physical Description: 179 pages ; 22 cm
  • Edition: [First edition].
  • Publisher: New York : Bloomsbury Publishing, [2024]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"From New York Times-bestselling, three-time National Book Award finalist Gail Godwin, a consideration of what makes for a life well lived--for readers of Oliver Sacks's Gratitude and Deborah Levy's Cost of Living. Ingmar Bergman once said that an artist should always have one work between himself and death. When renowned author Gail Godwin tripped and broke her neck while watering the dogwood tree in her garden at age eighty-five, a lifetime of writing and publishing behind her and a half-finished novel in tow, Bergman's idea quickly unfurled in front of her, forcing her to confront a creative life interrupted. In Getting to Know Death, Godwin shares what spoke to her while in a desperate place. Remembering those she has loved and survived, including a brother and father lost to suicide, and finding meaning in the encounters she has with other patients as she heals, she takes stock of a life toward the end of its long graceful arc, finding her path through the words she has written and the people she has loved. At once beautiful, biting, precise, poetic, and propulsive, Getting to Know Death is her own reckoning with the meaning of a life, the forms of passion that guide it, and how the stories we hold can shape our memories and preserve our selves as we write our own endings"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Godwin, Gail, author.
Women and death.
Death.
Mortality > Psychological aspects.
Old age > Psychological aspects.
Older people > Psychology.
Genre: Autobiographies.

Available copies

  • 3 of 6 copies available at Bibliomation. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Mark Twain Library Association - Redding.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 6 total copies.
Sort by distance from:
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Mark Twain Library Association - Redding 813.54 God (Text) 33620153761008 Adult New Nonfiction Checked out 07/23/2024


Additional Resources